Why should I learn a foreign language?

3 thoughts on “Why should I learn a foreign language?”

  1. I totally get you and have to say I love your mentality, because it seems like you TRY, and it IS the most important thing. I happen to be more “lucky” in the language field, with speaking 5 “fluently” and I LOVE it. But you are so right, never STOP trying, and indeed, giving locals a little laugh by making mistakes gives you so much more than not saying anything. I can still remember when I learnt italian (was dating an italian) and said to his mother “I saw today they sell pasta with dick on the main square” when what I wanted to say was “pasta with mussels” but “mussels” and “dick” are just too close and as “dick” is used all the time in swearing I guess my brain had picked it up and it came automatically… hahaha. i LOVE languages 🙂

What do you think?

