Lalibela

15 thoughts on “Lalibela”

  1. These are absolutely beautiful photos! Ethiopia is one of the countries I really want to visit and Lalibela is obviously on the list of places to go there. Sadly enough, I’d been to the Addis Ababa airport several times in the past few years but I could never step into the city. Great post! Thanks for sharing!

    1. Thank you for the really nice comment Anarya. Next time you go through Addis Ababa you should definitely step out of the airport, but I would also recommend stepping out of the city – it is worth the effort.

      1. Unfortunately I won’t be passing that way in the foreseeable future, but I will make sure I head to Ethiopia one day and see Addis (as you recommended), and the other sites. 😀

  2. Great post! It is difficult to find a personal unbiased post on Ethiopia, with quality photos to boot, so thank you! I am planning a trip in September – do you know if it is possible to drive between the town and the lodge? I really want to stay at the lodge, but only have 2 days and would like to visit the churches, so can’t imagine hiking up and down in one day and walking around all the churches!

    1. Thanks Cindy. Sorry for the delay in responding but have been travelling and with spotty internet (and also out sightseeing)! To answer your question, no, you can’t drive between Lalibela and Hudad Lodge (I assume you mean). It is essentially like a goat track that winds its way up to a high plateau. It is about 2-3 hours walking if you walk direct (and you can also ride on the back of a mule). It is well worth it. Depending on how in to doing the churches you are, you can do both. Spend a night up on the plateau and come back down the next morning and then spend a night in Lalibela. All the churches are really close together and I did half in 3 hours (someone I met there said their guide took them through all of the churches in 2.5 hours!!). Good luck and please feel free to ask any more questions.

      1. Amazing! Thank you for writing back – we have just bought and paid for our flights and are staying in hudad for 2 nights! I’m very excited! Trying to find an initinerary for a 2 day, 1 night Simien trek (I am dragging along an unwilling hiker!) from Gonder. Any recommendations of a route/plan with beautiful views are welcome! You have been so helpful and I look forward to more posts on your lovely blog!

        1. Hi Cindy
          That’s fantastic. I hope you have a really great time in Ethiopia and Hudad. Unfortunately I haven’t been to Simien Mtns yet, but if you check the Simien Lodge website they might have some suggestions, or email them. Good luck, Erin.

    1. He he! Would you believe the conversation centred around religion – a conversation I would usually avoid – but was super interesting (I think the beer helped too)!

What do you think?

